Catherine Cooper – The Golden Acorn

This review is only available in English as there is no german translation of this book anyway.

“The Golden Acorn” by Catherine Cooper is the first book of the series “The adventures of Jack Brenin”:

1. The Golden Acorn
2. Glasruhen Gate
3. Silver Hill

As Catherine Cooper wrote as a comment (see below) there also will be a fourth and fifth book!

It is a series for children, but also adults may like it. At the moment, the book is available on Amazon for free! (already for some months)

Content: 

As the title of the series “The adventures of Jack Brenin” already says, the book deals with the life of Jack. Jack has been chosen to save the life of a tree. When he found a golden maple leaf, he didn’t know that this will change his life and that he will be betaken into a world full of magic. He gets to know speaking birds, watch-keeping rats, and much more.

My opinion:

Usually I am not a big fan of this type of fantasy, but this book is written in such a cute way. It is definitively a children book. It has 366 pages, which is a lot for a children book and no pictures, but there are no scenes of violence and scenes that could be a bit scaring are written in a rather harmless way. But the book can also be read by adults, like me. You just have to be aware of the fact, that the original target group is a bit younger.

Jack Brenin is a really cute boy. I often thought that I would like to hug him. For a lot of children he could be a real hero.

The book is full of suspense and lets the reader escape into another world. I have to deduct one star because it has a few longueurs.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Catherine Cooper on 23/04/2012 - 00:31

    Hello and thank you for your review about my book.

    I thought you might like to know there will be a book four and five in the series. I am almost at the end of the fourth book, which is entitled, The Lost Treasure of Annwn (but may be shortened to just The Lost Treasure).

    If you have not already discovered, there is a web site with lots of extra information, additional pages and all the latest news at http://www.pengridion.co.uk

    Camelin also has his own facebook page now… he’s a very demanding bird!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book.
    Kind regards
    Catherine Cooper

    • #2 by marimirl on 23/04/2012 - 08:09

      Hello! Thanks for your comment, that’s really a surprise! Oh yes, I liked your book and I already have the second book on my kindle. But there are so many books waiting for me… However, I hope I can read it soon.
      But what great news that there will be even more books. Unfortunately, they are not very popular in my country – Austria- as they never were translated into German – at least I didn’t find a translation.

      Thanks for the link! I already know the web site, but it’s a good reminder to look at it once again!

      Best wishes!

      • #3 by Catherine Cooper on 23/04/2012 - 09:00

        Hello again

        I too have a long reading list but I dare not start any book until I’ve finished the Jack Brenin series. The books have been translated into a few languages, hopefully you’ll have a German translation eventually.

        Kind regards
        Catherine Cooper

      • #4 by marimirl on 23/04/2012 - 09:43

        Oh, that’s hard not being allowed to start a book. But i guess if I write a book, I wouldn’t want to read one at the same time…it’s like an overdose of books.
        I will keep looking for a translation so that I can make some promotion for readers that don’t read english books😉
        So, good luck and a lot of energy for your further wiriting process!

      • #5 by Catherine Cooper on 23/04/2012 - 13:14

        Many thanks.

  1. 150 Ebooks für je 0,99€ « Marimirl's Books

Comment...

