Chris Ewan – Safe House

First of all, many thanks to Faber & Faber who provided me this ebook!

Content

Safe House is a thriller or crime by Chris Ewan who already wrote the “The Good Thief’s Guide To…” series. Rob Hale had a motorbike accident and wakes up in the hospital. He is sure that  a woman, Lena, accompanied him on the bike but he is told that Lena doesn’t exist and he was all alone. Rob tries to find out if he is really only imagine her. Soon he gets to know Rebecca who investigates the suicide of Rob’s sister Laura. Together they are looking for the truth…

My opinion

Instantly I was interested into the plot especially as the books of Chris Ewan are on my wishlist for months already. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed of the book.

I liked the style of writing. For most parts of the book there was a first-person narrator, Rob himself. I love this kind of narrator as it makes it easy to identify with the character. Other parts of the books are told from a third-person. It is absolutely impossible to let Rob tell these chapters as well, but I have to admit that I didn’t like those passages. As you may have already guessed there are chapters about Rob and his investigations as well as chapters from the view of the bad guys. I know that a lot of people like this, but I prefer not knowing what they bad boys are doing because I want to know exactly as much as Rob does. I think this extra information provided to the reader takes a lot of suspense from the story.

The story itself is a bit too usual, there is nothing new to it. As I already said the suspense is also missing. Nevertheless the book is easy to read and I still wanted to know how it is going to end. One big plus point are the characters. Altough they are not described very detailed it was very easy for me to imagine them. Rob is rather a nice boy who is keeping some distance to other people. Rebecca seems to be a bit arrogante although the author never says this. The good thing here is that the character are normal people without special characteristics, they have their strenghts as well as their weaknesses. This means the story could really just happen like this.

There is not much I can tell about the book without telling too much. As it is a thriller the reader shouldn’t know too much in advance. I liked reading the book and in the end I also was a bit surprised. It is not the best thriller I’ve ever read but it is a good read. I guess a lot of readers will like it!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Comment...

